Skip to content
Conwy Counts — Conwy, in numbers.Local help →

Conwy, in numbers

People and living standards

Conwy council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Conwy council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 107,951 in 1991 to 114,421 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Conwy council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 107,897 people in 1996; 114,421 people in 2025. 6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Conwy council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991107,951
1992107,782
1993108,142
1994108,891
1995108,940
1996107,897
1997108,174
1998108,470
1999108,322
2000108,651
2001109,674
2002110,624
2003111,248
2004112,272
2005112,374
2006113,004
2007113,778
2008114,371
2009114,623
2010114,682
2011115,326
2012115,432
2013115,313
2014115,700
2015115,380
2016115,391
2017114,855
2018114,387
2019114,196
2020114,651
2021114,788
2022114,257
2023114,631
2024114,435
2025114,421
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Conwy council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,626 people in 1996; 17,535 people in 2025. 10.7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Conwy council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199119,419
199219,473
199319,674
199419,945
199519,969
199619,626
199719,811
199819,820
199920,115
200020,125
200120,201
200220,214
200320,121
200420,186
200519,909
200619,734
200719,481
200819,321
200919,278
201019,149
201119,063
201219,040
201318,898
201418,877
201518,814
201618,703
201718,728
201818,664
201918,570
202018,418
202118,274
202218,180
202318,026
202417,810
202517,535
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Conwy council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 62,631 people in 1996; 63,649 people in 2025. 1.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Conwy council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199162,659
199262,401
199362,462
199463,182
199563,174
199662,631
199762,855
199863,198
199963,072
200063,361
200164,128
200264,786
200365,324
200466,063
200566,339
200666,896
200767,668
200867,948
200967,897
201067,621
201167,881
201267,372
201366,969
201466,847
201566,364
201666,146
201765,544
201865,034
201964,579
202064,895
202165,047
202264,420
202364,542
202463,973
202563,649
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Conwy council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,640 people in 1996; 33,237 people in 2025. 29.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Conwy council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,873
199225,908
199326,006
199425,764
199525,797
199625,640
199725,508
199825,452
199925,135
200025,165
200125,345
200225,624
200325,803
200426,023
200526,126
200626,374
200726,629
200827,102
200927,448
201027,912
201128,382
201229,020
201329,446
201429,976
201530,202
201630,542
201730,583
201830,689
201931,047
202031,338
202131,467
202231,657
202332,063
202432,652
202533,237
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 114,743 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Conwy · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,6511.4%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2710.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,2541.1%
White111,17696.9%
Other ethnic group3910.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 115,228 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Conwy · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White112,54997.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups8940.8%
Asian/Asian British1,2521.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1990.2%
Other ethnic group3340.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 109,596 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Conwy · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White108,43998.9%
Mixed4270.4%
Asian/Asian British3290.3%
Black/Black British920.1%
Chinese/Other3090.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 12.1% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Conwy council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,418 per person in 1997; £22,818 per person in 2024. 119% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Conwy council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,418
199810,491
199910,781
200011,169
200111,639
200212,088
200312,375
200412,728
200513,281
200613,379
200713,633
200814,233
200914,214
201014,442
201114,753
201215,256
201315,561
201415,998
201516,332
201616,380
201716,946
201817,551
201918,307
202018,539
202119,207
202219,923
202321,280
202422,818
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Conwy council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -1.8% in 1997; -12.1% in 2024. 10.3 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Conwy council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-1.8
1998-3.1
1999-4.7
2000-6.2
2001-5.9
2002-4.5
2003-5.1
2004-6.2
2005-5.5
2006-8.6
2007-11.2
2008-9.6
2009-11.2
2010-10.6
2011-9.5
2012-9.7
2013-11.2
2014-11.5
2015-14.2
2016-14.9
2017-14
2018-14
2019-13.1
2020-11.7
2021-12.1
2022-13.2
2023-13
2024-12.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

50.6%

21 March 2021 · Conwy council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

19.1%

21 March 2021 · Conwy council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.7%

21 March 2021 · Conwy council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.6%

21 March 2021 · Conwy council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£218,000

July 2026 · Conwy council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£796

August 2026 · Conwy council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.